Compare bank accounts in Rwanda
🎯 Not sure which is right for you? Get a personalised plan ranked for your situation. Get my plan →
Largest branch network
Bank of Kigali Current Account
★★★★☆
Not published on the current-accounts page we fetched — request the tariff guide in branch
Monthly Fee
Not verified this session (bnr.rw blocks automated fetches)
Licence
Everyday salary banking and the widest branch and ATM footprint in Rwanda
Best For
bank
Type
Pros
- The largest branch and ATM network in the country, which matters outside Kigali
- Named digital channels (BK Mobile, BK Quick) are advertised on the bank's own homepage
- Widely accepted as a destination account by remittance providers sending into Rwanda
Cons
- No account fees, minimum balances or interest rates are published on the public product pages we fetched
- Scale tends to mean queues at branches and slower complaint resolution than smaller banks
- You will have to ask for the tariff guide directly before you can compare it on cost
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Monthly maintenance feeNot disclosed on the site — ask for the current tariff guide
ATM and transaction chargesNot disclosed on the site — confirm before opening
Eligibility
- Rwandan national ID, or passport plus proof of residence for foreign nationals
- Proof of address and, for salary accounts, an employer letter or payslip
Documents needed
- National ID or passport
- Proof of address
- Passport photographs
- Employer or income confirmation where a salary account is requested
Low opening balance
Access Bank Rwanda Standard Current Account
★★★★☆
Not published; the bank states a minimum operating balance of RWF 1,000 and no cash withdrawal charges
Monthly Fee
Not verified this session (bnr.rw blocks automated fetches)
Licence
People who want a low entry balance and a published account-opening checklist
Best For
bank
Type
Pros
- Minimum operating balance stated on the bank's own page as RWF 1,000 — among the clearest disclosures in the market
- The bank states there are no cash withdrawal charges on this account
- Available in local and foreign currencies, with a complimentary Visa debit card, cheque book and standing orders on request
Cons
- Requires two references to open, which is slower than a mobile wallet or a walk-in salary account
- The monthly maintenance fee is not published, so the headline low balance may not be the whole cost
- A smaller branch network than Bank of Kigali or BPR, so upcountry access is limited
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Minimum operating balanceRWF 1,000 (stated by Access Bank Rwanda)
Cash withdrawal chargeNone, per the bank's product page
Eligibility
- Valid national ID or international passport
- Proof of address and a residence permit where applicable
- Two references
Documents needed
- National ID or international passport
- Address verification document
- Two passport photographs
- Two references
- Residence permit where applicable
NCBA Bank Rwanda Individual Current Account
★★★★☆
Not published on the product pages; NCBA directs customers to its Tariff Guide
Monthly Fee
Not verified this session (bnr.rw blocks automated fetches)
Licence
Anyone who wants a salary account and a foreign-currency account under one roof
Best For
bank
Type
Pros
- A distinct Salary Current Account rather than a one-size-fits-all product
- A USD Savings Account is offered alongside the franc accounts, useful if you are paid in dollars
- The full account and lending range is set out clearly on the bank's own site
Cons
- No fees or rates appear on the product pages — you have to open the tariff guide separately
- A much smaller branch footprint than the incumbent Rwandan banks
- Product descriptions are thin, so the real differences between account tiers are hard to judge online
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Monthly maintenance feeNot disclosed on the product page — see NCBA's Tariff Guide
Minimum opening balanceNot disclosed on the product page — confirm with the bank
Eligibility
- Valid national ID or passport
- Proof of address; an employer letter or payslip for the Salary Current Account
Documents needed
- National ID or passport
- Proof of address
- Passport photograph
- Payslip or employer letter for the salary variant
Equity Bank Rwanda Transaction Account
★★★★☆
Not published online — the bank directs enquiries to +250 788 190000 or a branch
Monthly Fee
Not verified this session (bnr.rw blocks automated fetches)
Licence
People who receive money from abroad and want it landing in a bank account, not a wallet
Best For
bank
Type
Pros
- Eazzy Remittance is a named inbound-transfer service, useful if family send money regularly
- EazzyFX and a full mobile and online banking suite are offered on the same account relationship
- Part of a large regional group with cross-border presence in Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania and DRC
Cons
- Almost no product specifics are published online — no fees, balances or rates
- You are pushed to a phone number or branch to get basic pricing
- Group-level marketing pages make it hard to tell which products are actually live in Rwanda
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Monthly maintenance feeNot disclosed online — confirm with the bank
Remittance receiving feeNot disclosed online — ask before nominating the account
Eligibility
- Valid national ID or passport
- Proof of address
Documents needed
- National ID or passport
- Proof of address
- Passport photograph
Most widely accepted
MTN Mobile Money (MoMo) Rwanda
★★★★☆
None stated; charges are per transaction — MoMo Pay free under RWF 4,000, 0.5% above RWF 4,001, 2% to move funds to a bank account
Monthly Fee
Not verified this session (bnr.rw blocks automated fetches)
Licence
Day-to-day payments, merchant payments and receiving remittances without a bank branch
Best For
mno
Type
Pros
- MTN publishes its tariffs on its own site — MoMo Pay is stated as free below RWF 4,000
- Bill payments are stated to carry no extra fee, and deposits by EFT or bank card are stated as free
- Accepted almost everywhere, and it is the delivery rail most remittance apps use into Rwanda
Cons
- Moving money out to a bank account costs 2%, so keeping large balances in the wallet is expensive to unwind
- The MoMo virtual card carries a stated 4% mark-up on the prevailing exchange rate after the first three months
- A wallet is not a savings home — there is no meaningful interest on the balance
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Cash-out to a bank account2% (stated by MTN Rwanda)
MoMo Pay merchant paymentFree below RWF 4,000; 0.5% from RWF 4,001 (stated by MTN Rwanda)
Eligibility
- A registered MTN Rwanda SIM in your own name
- Valid national ID or passport for KYC registration
Documents needed
- National ID or passport
- Registered MTN SIM card
People also compare
Ad