Compare savings & fixed deposit rates in Rwanda
🎯 Not sure which is right for you? Get a personalised plan ranked for your situation. Get my plan →
Now deposit-guaranteed
Umurenge SACCO
★★★★☆
Set locally by each SACCO — ask at your own sector's branch
Monthly Fee
Cooperative sector overseen by the Rwanda Cooperation Agency; deposit-guarantee inclusion reported under BNR Regulation No. 93/2025 (not confirmed on bnr.rw — see notes)
Licence
Rural and small-town savers, and anyone who wants a savings home within walking distance
Best For
sacco
Type
Pros
- Present in every sector of the country — the shortest distance to a formal savings account for most rural Rwandans
- Member-owned, so borrowing terms are set with the local membership rather than a head office
- Reported to be covered by the Deposit Guarantee Fund up to RWF 1,000,000 per depositor under BNR Regulation No. 93/2025
Cons
- Terms, fees and rates differ from one SACCO to the next — there is no single published tariff to compare
- Digital access is far behind the banks; many transactions still mean queuing in person
- Governance quality varies between individual SACCOs, so due diligence on your own branch matters
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Membership and share contributionSet locally by each SACCO — confirm at your sector branch
Savings account chargesVary by SACCO; not centrally published
Eligibility
- Residence in the sector (umurenge) the SACCO serves
- Rwandan national ID
- Payment of the SACCO's membership or share contribution
Documents needed
- National ID
- Passport photographs
- Proof of residence in the sector
Government scheme
Ejo Heza Long-Term Saving Scheme
★★★★☆
Not published on the scheme's about page — contributions are voluntary and self-set
Monthly Fee
Established by Law No. 29/2017 of 29 June 2017 and administered by the Rwanda Social Security Board (RSSB)
Licence
Informal-sector workers and the self-employed who have no workplace pension
Best For
digital
Type
Pros
- Open to Rwandans and to foreigners living in Rwanda, whether formally employed or not
- Joining is a USSD code (*506#) — no branch visit, no paperwork
- A defined-contribution scheme run by RSSB rather than a commercial provider
Cons
- It is a retirement scheme, not an emergency fund — treat the money as locked away
- Contribution rules, government incentives and withdrawal conditions are not set out on the public about page
- Long-horizon saving in francs carries inflation risk that the scheme's marketing does not address
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Joining feeNot published on the scheme's about page — confirm with RSSB
Contribution amountVoluntary and self-set; no minimum published on the about page
Eligibility
- Rwandan citizens, in the formal or informal sector, employed or self-employed
- Foreign nationals legally resident in Rwanda
Documents needed
- National ID or, for foreign residents, passport and residence documentation
- A registered mobile number for the *506# self-registration
Access Bank Rwanda Savings Accounts
★★★★☆
Not published for any of the six savings accounts — request the tariff schedule
Monthly Fee
Not verified this session (bnr.rw blocks automated fetches)
Licence
Households wanting a purpose-matched account — a children's, youth or seniors' savings product
Best For
bank
Type
Pros
- Six distinct named accounts, including Early Savers for children and Ntugasaze for seniors
- A High Interest Deposit Account is offered for money you can set aside for a fixed project
- Access Advantage is positioned as a savings account with current-account functionality
Cons
- No interest rates are published for any account, which makes the 'high interest' label unverifiable online
- No minimum balances or fee structures appear on the savings pages
- You have to phone or visit to compare the six accounts on anything that matters financially
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Monthly account feeNot disclosed on the savings pages — ask for the tariff schedule
Interest rateNot disclosed on the savings pages — confirm before depositing
Eligibility
- Valid national ID or international passport
- Proof of address; age-appropriate documentation for youth, children's and seniors' variants
Documents needed
- National ID or international passport
- Address verification document
- Passport photographs
- Birth certificate or guardian ID for children's accounts
NCBA Bank Rwanda Savings and Fixed Deposits
★★★★☆
Not published on the product pages; NCBA points customers to its Tariff Guide
Monthly Fee
Not verified this session (bnr.rw blocks automated fetches)
Licence
Savers who want a franc account and a dollar account with the same bank
Best For
bank
Type
Pros
- A USD Savings Account sits alongside the franc range, avoiding forced conversion of dollar income
- Both fixed and short-term deposits are offered, so you can match the term to the goal
- Distinct student and kids' accounts rather than a single generic savings product
Cons
- No interest rates are published for any savings or deposit product
- Fixed-deposit terms and minimums are absent from the site entirely
- A small branch network means most servicing happens digitally or by phone
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Account maintenance feeNot disclosed on the product page — see NCBA's Tariff Guide
Fixed deposit interest rateNot disclosed on the product page — request a quote
Eligibility
- Valid national ID or passport
- Proof of address; student or guardian documentation for the student and kids' variants
Documents needed
- National ID or passport
- Proof of address
- Passport photograph
- Student ID or guardian ID where applicable
Equity Bank Rwanda Super Junior Account
★★★★☆
Not published online — the bank directs enquiries to a branch or +250 788 190000
Monthly Fee
Not verified this session (bnr.rw blocks automated fetches)
Licence
Parents opening a first savings account for a child
Best For
bank
Type
Pros
- A dedicated children's product rather than a general account opened in a child's name
- Sits inside Equity's mobile and online banking, so a parent can monitor it remotely
- Backed by a large regional banking group
Cons
- No interest rate, minimum balance or fee is published anywhere online
- The product page is marketing copy with no terms attached
- Children's accounts across the market often pay little — verify the rate before committing
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Account feeNot disclosed online — confirm with the bank
Interest rateNot disclosed online — ask before opening
Eligibility
- A parent or guardian with a valid national ID or passport
- The child's birth certificate or identity documentation
Documents needed
- Parent or guardian national ID or passport
- Child's birth certificate
- Passport photographs
People also compare
Ad