Compare money transfer to & from Rwanda

By the Rateweb editorial team · How we rate · Product details checked 2 Aug 2026

Compare licensed services for sending money to and from Rwanda on exchange rate, fees and delivery speed. The real cost is the fee plus the exchange-rate margin — compare both.

💸 What it costs to send money to Rwanda Benchmark · Q3 2025

Fees quietly eat remittances. Sending US$200 to Sub-Saharan Africa costs 8.78% on average — versus a 6.49% global average. Remittances are about 3.8% of Rwanda's GDP (World Bank, 2024) — around US$0.5bn a year. That gap is exactly why comparing pays.

US$
at the 8.78% regional average ≈ US$17.56 in fees. Beat that with an option below.
From Europe
Rwanda's diaspora is unusually European — Belgium (historic ties, ~30,000 Rwandans), France and the Netherlands. On a euro-to-franc transfer the exchange-rate margin is usually the bigger cost.
From East Africa
The largest Rwandan communities live in the region — Uganda, Kenya, Tanzania. Regional corridors can be surprisingly expensive (Tanzania–Rwanda has been measured near 15%), so compare hard.
From the US & UK
The North American and UK diaspora (about 12,500 Rwandans live in the UK) — USD/GBP transfers where digital services usually beat the banks.

Source: World Bank Remittance Prices Worldwide (remittanceprices.worldbank.org), Q3 2025. A dated quarterly benchmark, not a live quote — the table below carries current provider details. Full corridor breakdown →

⭐ Ratings & awards are Rateweb's independent editorial opinion — how we rate.

🎯 Not sure which is right for you? Get a personalised plan ranked for your situation. Get my plan →
Filter & sort
5 results
Mid-market rate

Wise

Wise converts to Rwandan francs at the mid-market rate and charges a separate, visible fee rather than burying a margin in the exchange rate. Delivery is to local bank accounts; it is the transparent option, though not automatically the cheapest for small amounts.
★★★★☆
4.2/5 · How we rate
Multiple send countries into Rwanda in RWF; delivery to local bank accounts
Corridors
Regulated in its send-side jurisdictions; specific Rwandan authorisation not verified this session
Licence
Larger transfers to a Rwandan bank account where the exchange rate margin dominates the cost
Best For
remittance
Type
Pros
  • Uses the mid-market exchange rate with the fee shown separately — the clearest pricing model in the market
  • Fees are stated to fall as the amount rises, with discounts on large transfers
  • Recipients are paid from Wise's local account, so funds arrive as a domestic credit
Cons
  • Card-funded transfers cost substantially more than paying by bank transfer — the site's own quotes show a wide gap
  • Bank-account delivery only on the page we checked; no mobile money option was listed for Rwanda
  • Paying by bank transfer is cheapest but slower than the instant mobile-money rivals
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Exchange rateMid-market rate, per Wise's own Rwanda page
Transfer feeCharged separately and varies by payment method — bank transfer cheapest, card dearest
Eligibility
  • A verified Wise account in a supported send country
  • Identity verification under the send country's rules
Documents needed
  • Sender identity document for verification
  • Recipient's Rwandan bank account details
Visit Wise
Widest payout network

Remitly

Remitly has the deepest Rwandan payout network of the providers we checked — more than twenty partners covering MTN Mobile Money, Airtel Money, the major banks and SACCOs. It also promises to refund its fee if a transfer misses its stated delivery time.
★★★★☆
4.1/5 · How we rate
Cash pickup, bank deposit and mobile wallet into Rwanda; partners include MTN Mobile Money, Airtel Money, Bank of Kigali, Ecobank, Equity Bank, KCB and SACCOs
Corridors
Licensed as a money transmitter in its send-side jurisdictions; Rwandan authorisation not verified this session
Licence
Sending to a recipient with no bank account, or to a specific bank or SACCO
Best For
remittance
Type
Pros
  • Over twenty named payout partners in Rwanda, including both mobile money networks and SACCOs
  • Three delivery routes — cash pickup, bank deposit and mobile wallet — from one app
  • Remitly states it will refund the fee if a transfer is not delivered on time
Cons
  • Prices with a margin on the exchange rate as well as a fee, so the headline 'from $0' is not the whole cost
  • Promotional first-transfer rates are better than the ongoing rate — compare on the repeat rate, not the introductory one
  • Neither fees nor limits are published on the Rwanda page; you have to start a transfer to see them
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Transfer feeNot published on the Rwanda page — varies by amount, speed and payment method
Exchange rate marginNot published — compare the delivered RWF figure against the mid-market rate
Eligibility
  • A verified Remitly account in a supported send country
  • Identity verification under the send country's rules
Documents needed
  • Sender identity document for verification
  • Recipient's mobile money number, bank account or full name for cash pickup
Visit Remitly

WorldRemit

WorldRemit covers Rwanda with four payout options — mobile money, bank transfer, cash pickup and airtime top-up — and states it charges no fee on airtime and adds no recipient fee on mobile money. It does not name its Rwandan partners publicly.
★★★★☆
4.0/5 · How we rate
Mobile money, bank transfer, cash pickup and airtime top-up into Rwanda
Corridors
Regulated in its send-side jurisdictions; Rwandan authorisation not verified this session
Licence
Small, frequent transfers to a mobile money wallet, or topping up a relative's airtime
Best For
remittance
Type
Pros
  • Four payout methods including airtime top-up, which WorldRemit states carries no fee
  • States that recipients pay no additional fee on mobile money transfers
  • Mobile money delivery is described as instant to a registered wallet
Cons
  • No local partner institutions are named, so you cannot check which network or bank will actually pay out
  • Fees vary by country, delivery method and payment method, and none are published on the Rwanda page
  • Like most app-based providers, part of the cost sits in the exchange rate rather than the visible fee
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Airtime top-up feeNone, per WorldRemit's own statement
Transfer feeVaries by delivery method and payment method; not published on the Rwanda page
Eligibility
  • A verified WorldRemit account in a supported send country
  • Identity verification under the send country's rules
Documents needed
  • Sender identity document for verification
  • Recipient's mobile money number, bank details or name for cash collection
Visit WorldRemit
Africa-focused

NALA

An Africa-focused transfer app sending to Rwandan mobile wallets and bank accounts from the UK, EU, US and Canada. It is unusually specific about its regulatory permissions, naming its FCA and DNB agent relationships and its US licensing.
★★★★☆
4.0/5 · How we rate
UK, EU, US and Canada into Rwanda; mobile money and bank account delivery
Corridors
UK: registered EMD agent of Modulr FS Limited (FCA reference 900573). EU: via Modulr Finance B.V., authorised by DNB. US: state money transmitter licences, NMLS 2530895
Licence
Diaspora senders in the UK, EU or US paying into a Rwandan mobile wallet
Best For
remittance
Type
Pros
  • Names its regulatory permissions and reference numbers openly, which few remittance apps do
  • Sends to mobile wallets and bank accounts, with Google Pay and Apple Pay funding
  • Built specifically for African corridors rather than treating them as a long tail
Cons
  • No fee percentages or exchange rate spreads are disclosed on the Rwanda page
  • Operates as an agent of licensed institutions rather than holding the permissions itself in the UK and EU
  • A smaller operation than Wise or Remitly, so support and recourse are less battle-tested
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Transfer feeNot disclosed on the Rwanda page — check the quote in the app before sending
Exchange rate marginNot disclosed — NALA says it compares real-time rates but publishes no spread
Eligibility
  • A verified NALA account in a supported send country (UK, EU, US or Canada)
  • Identity verification under the send country's rules
Documents needed
  • Sender identity document for verification
  • Recipient's Rwandan mobile money number or bank account details
Visit NALA

Taptap Send

A low-friction transfer app that lists Rwanda among its destinations, paying out to bank accounts, mobile money and cash pickup. Its pricing model puts the cost in the exchange rate rather than a visible fee, which makes rate comparison essential.
★★★★☆
3.9/5 · How we rate
Multiple send countries into Rwanda; bank deposits, mobile money and cash pickup
Corridors
US: licensed as a Money Transmitter by the New York Department of Financial Services and as a Foreign Transmittal Agency in Massachusetts (FT2108069). Rwandan authorisation not verified this session
Licence
Senders who want a simple app and are willing to compare the rate rather than the fee
Best For
remittance
Type
Pros
  • Three payout routes into Rwanda — bank deposit, mobile money and cash pickup
  • Names specific US licences, including its Massachusetts registration number
  • A deliberately simple app aimed at repeat diaspora senders
Cons
  • Where the visible fee is low or zero, the cost has moved into the exchange rate — always check the delivered amount
  • No Rwanda-specific fee or limit information is published on the main site
  • The Rwanda support article was not reachable during this research, so corridor specifics could not be confirmed at source
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Transfer feeVaries by corridor; not published for Rwanda on the main site
Exchange rateDescribed as competitive; no spread disclosed — compare the delivered RWF amount
Eligibility
  • A verified Taptap Send account in a supported send country
  • Identity verification under the send country's rules
Documents needed
  • Sender identity document for verification
  • Recipient's mobile money number or bank account details
Visit Taptap Send

Ratings are Rateweb's editorial opinion. Product details can change — always confirm with the provider before applying. Rateweb may earn a commission on some applications. This is general information, not financial advice.

People also compare